The West Coast Book Prize Society is pleased to announce the names of the winners of the 32nd Annual BC Book Prizes.

Alix Hawley won the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, awarded to the author of the best work of fiction (supported by Friesens), for All True Not a Lie in It (Knopf Canada).

Briony Penn won the Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize, to recognize the author(s) of the book that contributes most to the enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia (supported by Marquis, Victoria Bindery, and First Choice Books), for The Real Thing: The Natural History of Ian McTaggart Cowan (Rocky Mountain Books).

Brian Brett won the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize, awarded to the author of the best original non-fiction literary work (supported by the BC Teachers’ Federation), for Tuco: The Parrot, the Others, and A Scattershot World (Greystone Books).

Raoul Fernandes won the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize, awarded to the author of the best work of poetry (supported by Anonymous), for Transmitter and Receiver (Nightwood Editions).

Annette LeBox and Stephanie Graegin (illus.) won the Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize, presented to the best illustrated book written for children (supported by Kate Walker and Vancouver Kidsbooks), for Peace is an Offering (Dial Books).

Susan Juby won the Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize, awarded to the best non-illustrated book written for children (supported by the BC Library Association, Friends of Sheila Egoff, BC Books for Kids, and University of Victoria Libraries), for The Truth Commission (Razorbill).

Susan Musgrave won the Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award, presented to the originating publisher and author(s) of the best book in terms of public appeal, initiative, design, production, and content (supported by the BC Booksellers’ Association, Sandhill Book Marketing, Ampersand Inc., and Canadian Manda Group Inc.), for A Taste of Haida Gwaii: Food Gathering and Feasting at the Edge of the World (Whitecap Books).

Alan Twigg won the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence, which was established in 2003 by the Honourable Iona Campagnolo. It recognizes British Columbian writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the province.

A total of $14,000 was awarded to winners, with each prize providing $2,000. The recipient of the Lieutenant Governor’s Award receives $5,000, thanks to the generosity of the Government House Foundation. This year’s Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala, emceed by CBC broadcaster Gregor Craigie and attended by the Honourable Judith Guichon, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia, took place at Government House in Victoria on April 30, 2016.

The BC Book Prizes were established in 1985 to celebrate the achievements of British Columbian writers and publishers. The prizes are administered and awarded by a non-profit society that represents all facets of the publishing and writing community. The West Coast Book Prize Society congratulates all of the winners!

For more information call 604.687.2405 or visit